Aerospace Engineering Alumni Board and Aerospace Alumni Strategic Advisory Committee

The mission of the University of Illinois Aerospace Engineering Alumni Board is to advance the standing, reputation, effectiveness, accomplishments, and leadership of the Department and, secondarily, the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois. 

Roles of the AE Alumni Board members:

  • To offer and maintain communication between the Department of Aerospace Engineering and its alumni.
  • Assist the Department in reaching out to high school students to foster their interest in the Aerospace Engineering Department.
  • Participate in mentorship opportunities for current students.
  • Provide assistance to Aerospace student organizations (assist in projects, student visits/tours, and webinars).
  • Support student groups and courses in the curriculum by presenting “state of industry” or technical lectures.


President:  Robert Feconda BS ‘81, Tiger Innnovations
Vice President: Tracy Elving BS ‘85, 3P Excellence Consulting LLC

Scott D. Altman BS ’81, ASRC Research & Technology Solutions
Erik L.Antonsen BS ’97, MS ’01, PhD ’04, MD ’09, NASA
Lee J. Archambault BS ’82, MS ’84, Sierra Nevada Corporation
Laura Bogusch BS ’95, MS TAM ’97, Boeing
Blaine Brown BS ’81, Lockheed Martin
Michael Burghardt BS ‘85, Boeing
Mark Crowley BS ‘83, QuintessenceLabs
Ben L. Doeckel BS ’81, Raytheon

Earl Dowell BS '59 Duke University

Jeff Fisher BS ’83, Fisher Aerospace
Bruce T. Goodwin MS ’77, PhD ’82, Lawrence Livermore National Labs
Nadya Heinrich BS ‘91, MS ’93, Boeing
Stephen J. Hoffman BS ’78, MS ’80, PhD ‘84, NASA
Mike Hopkins BS ‘92, NASA
Terry J. Jaggers BS ’87, Excela Ventures Group
Daniel T. Jensen BS ’88, Rolls-Royce
Gary W. Joseph BS ’78, Northrop Grumman (retired)
Abdollah (Abdi) Khodadoust PhD ’93, Boeing

Alex Kosmala MS '90, Sr. VP of Energy & Construction at LB Foster
Andrea Lackey BS ‘06, IRIS Technology Corporation
Richard L. Mange BS ’86, MS ’90, PhD ’96, Lockheed Martin
Michael W. Miller BS ’76, Comspace Development
James B. Mocarski BS ‘89, Consultant
Tom Penn BS ‘85, Cardiac Science
Chris Raymond BS ‘86, Boeing
John Rice BS ’81, Graham Corporation
David R. Riley BS ’77, Boeing (retired)
John K. Soldner BS ’77, MS ’79, Leidos

Melissa T. Taylor BS ’03, Envoy Aerospace LLC
Jay Thomas BS ’00, MS ’02, LDRA Software Technology
Richard E. Zelenka BS ’87, Critical Path IP Law



Aerospace Alumni Strategic Advisory Committee

Laura K. Richardson, BS ’13, MS ’15, Northrop Grumman
Matthew H. Schonert, BS ’13, MS ’16, Boeing
Grant J. Kramer, BS ’16, Rolls-Royce
Michael S. Miller, BS ’1,6 Raytheon
Catherine M. Beck, BS ’16, Northrop Grumman
Samantha D. McCue, BS ‘13,
5D Systems
Parth S. Patel, BS ’15 GE, Aviation
James W. Toothaker, BS ’15, Rockwell-Collins
Alexander W. Case, BS ’16,
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Kelsey R. White, BS ’16, Boeing
Elias G. Waddington, BS ’17, Impossible Aerospace