Fellowships, Assistantships, and Awards

Department of Aerospace Engineering Awards

Roger A. Strehlow Memorial Award: The award is presented annually in his honor to a graduate student in recognition of outstanding research accomplishment. Professor Strehlow joined the aero faculty in 1961. His background was in chemistry, and he was an acknowledged expert in the field of detonations and explosions. He also made significant contributions toward the understanding of the structure, stability, and extinction of laminar premixed flames. He was an early advocate of microgravity combustion and successfully characterized the extinction and flammability states of flames under microgravity conditions. Professor Strehlow was the first AIAA Fellow in the Department of Aerospace Engineering.

College of Engineering Awards

Henry Ford II Scholar Award: The award is made to an outstanding first-year engineering graduate student entering the second year of study. The award is based upon performance during the first year of study and is given in addition to the usual assistantship or other support. In addition to grade point average, the award is based upon other evidence of accomplishments such as initiating research or contributing directly to practice. When more than one nominee meets all criteria, preference will be given to the nominee whose field will contribute most to areas related to the automotive industry. The Henry Ford II Scholar Award, in the amount of $5,000 is supported by an endowment grant of $100,000 from the Ford Motor Company Fund.

Ross J. Martin Award

The Ross J. Martin Award has been established to recognize an outstanding research achievement by a graduate student in the College of Engineering. The award is to recognize the importance of research in graduate engineering education. Dean Martin served as Director of the Experiment Station for twenty-six years; the engineering research budget grew from $5 million to $36 million dollars under his administration.

Mavis Memorial Fund Scholarship Awards for Doctoral Students

These awards are presented annually to students working for their doctorates in the College of Engineering. It is the donor's desire that those students planning to become teachers be given preference. Approximately ten awards for an amount of $5,000 each are given out each year. The nominations to the college should be submitted by the department head.



Program Administration:

elliottgatillinois [dot] edu (Prof. Greg Elliott)
Associate Head, Graduate Programs

tankatillinois [dot] edu (Staci McDannel)
Program Coordinator, Graduate Programs

Hours: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Ready to apply?

If you're ready to submit your application for Graduate admission, follow the link below to start the process on the Admissions Office website.

Apply Now