News Stories

Talbot Laboratory
Historic number of grad students enroll in AE, while a new remodeled space provides them offices.
Talbot Laboratory
AE undergraduate enrollment has reached 518 students, while the Department moves up a notch in rankings.
Illinois Space Society
The Illinois Space Society student organization will host Illinois Space Day for K-12 students on Saturday, October 7.
Josh Rovey experiment
New Associate Prof. Joshua Rovey comes to AE at Illinois with expertise in space propulsion and plasma physics.
Michael S. Hopkins
Astronaut Michael Hopkins has been awarded the 2017 AE Distinguished Alumnus Award.
John Yu
John Yu has received the AE 2017 Outstanding Recent Alumnus Award.
John K. Soldner
John K. Soldner has recieved the AE 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award.
Scott White coating research graphic
Scott White's group has pioneered research of a surface system that repeatedly regenerates, mimicking the way skin heals when damaged.
Phil Ansell with his students.
Phill Ansell joins $9.9 million NASA project to improve airfoil design
Tim Bretl research _ prosthetic hand
The prosthetic hand Tim Bretl and his research group have developed takes a licking and keeps on ticking!
Kai James
Assistant Prof. Kai James has been named the 2017 AIAA Teacher of the Year.
Tim Cochrane
Tim Cochrane, AE Associate Director of Advancement, has been named AE Staff Person of the Year for 2017.
Screen shot of the AE Alumni Design Control Challenge
AE Alumni Control Design Challenge: Do you have what it takes to take control?
Arthur Ibers
Alumnus Arthur Ibers has received the AE 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award.
Reconfigurable geostationary satellite platform project
"Legos in Space" is the concept behind a geostationary satellite platform that AE at Illinois is helping to develop.
Erik Antonsen
Alumnus Erik Antonsen has received the AE 2017 Outstanding Recent Alumnus Award.
AE 2016-17 graduating classes
Large classes of AE bachelor's and master's degree graduates embark on their next steps.
Alma Mater
Aerospace Engineering at Illinois student excellence was the focus of the 2017 Awards Banquet.
Cedric Langbort _ Siebel Energy Institute seed grant
Cedric Langbort and his collaborators will try to appeal to travelers’ altruistic tendencies to convince them to reduce energy consumption...
self-healing battery image
Scott White and Nancy Sottos have led a team in making lithium-ion batteries more reliable and longer-lasting through self-healing...


Subscribe to our Print and/or E-Newsletter

Aerospace Engineering provides news and updates about the Department once a year through our printed AE Newsletter, and about 6 times per year through our e-newsletter.

To subscribe to the printed newsletter, send us your mailing address by submitting your information online, or contact s-mummatillinois [dot] edu (Susan Mumm).

You can include your name on the e-newsletter subscription list by filling in the information here:


You are always able to unsubscribe. We like feedback and look forward to hearing from you.