News Stories

AE graduate student Mary Nguyen working with a prosthetic hand.
Tim Bretl's group combines electromyographic control research with 3D-printing to develop an artificial hand.
Grace Gao and her group at ION GNSS+
New technology improves GPS applications to power grid cybersecurity.
Emeritus Prof. Harry H. Hilton
Alumni, faculty, staff and AE friends gathered to celebrate the Department's 70th Anniversary.
News story image
A $1.5 million NSF grant will fund a project to build mechanical bats for construction sites.
AE 2014 graduate students
AE welcomes its largest incoming undergraduate class in 10 years.
AE Prof. John Lambros
Aerospace Engineering at Illinois has a good first response to its online master's degree.
Velocity field of Xe neutrals in a three ion thruster system predicted by new, m
Deborah Levin brings 34 years of experience in modeling and simulations as a new professor in AE.
A-LOFT Team graphics
AE teams take first and second place in the AIAA Space Design Contest for the third year in a row.
Andreas Cangellaris and Mark Rhodes
AE gains a piece of aeronautics history through the long-term loan of a Rolls-Royce Olympus engine.
Artist conception of the Nanosatellite Lab
Students will gain use of state-of-the-art composite manufacturing and nanosatellite facilities with a Talbot Laboratory remodeling project.
Taraneh Sayadi
Assistant Prof. Taraneh Sayadi will bring to AE expertise in numerical analysis of complex turbulent flow and thermoacoustic instabilities.
Scott R. White
AE Prof. Scott White is recognized for his pioneering research in autonomous materials.
Astronaut Steven R. Nagel
Long an advocate for Aerospace Engineering at Illinois, astronaut Steven R. Nagel has died.
An Illinois team's design takes third place in a Mars flyby competition.
Vincent Le Chenadec research image
Assistant Prof. Vincent Le Chenadec brings to AE expertise in numerical simulation and modeling of complex multi-phase flows.
Historical photo of Harry H. Hilton
Emeritus Prof. Harry H. Hilton is now a Fellow of the American Society for Composites.
Bruce Conway
Bruce Conway and Pradipto Ghosh theorize on optimal feedback controllers for dynamic systems.
Phillip J. Ansell
Previoiusly a graduate student and postdoc in AE, Phillip J. Ansell has joined the department as an assistant professor.
John Lambros
AE Prof. John Lambros is recognized for his contributions to experimental mechanics education.
Aerospace Engineering Graduation Chart
AE gained 127 alumni from graduations in Academic Year 2014.


Subscribe to our Print and/or E-Newsletter

Aerospace Engineering provides news and updates about the Department once a year through our printed AE Newsletter, and about 6 times per year through our e-newsletter.

To subscribe to the printed newsletter, send us your mailing address by submitting your information online, or contact s-mummatillinois [dot] edu (Susan Mumm).

You can include your name on the e-newsletter subscription list by filling in the information here:


You are always able to unsubscribe. We like feedback and look forward to hearing from you.