Faculty Awards and Endowments

Ormsbee Professorship in Aerospace Engineering:

Allen Ormsbee graduated from the Aeronautical Engineering Department at Illinois in 1946, which began an instructional career in the department that lasted over 40 years.  He was an AIAA Associate Fellow and a member of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).  The professorship was created by Robert Liebeck, who was a student under Professor Ormsbee and will recognize faculty members who have expertise and academic abilities in the area of aerodynamics and flight vehicle design.








Scott R. White Aerospace Engineering Faculty Endowment Fund:

Professor Scott White was a faculty member in the Aerospace Department from 1990-2018.  He was a visionary researcher in the area of composite materials and was instrumental in creating the field of self-healing materials.  Professor White was deeply committed to providing undergraduate students with research opportunities.  He cared for his students and pushed them to reach their fullest potential.  For those students who knew him best, he was a wonderful mentor who was extremely driven and who always set the highest standards for his students.  The fund will support faculty who have expertise, academic abilities, and research within the field of polymers, polymer matrix composites, or multifunctional polymeric materials.