Lambros Elected SEM Fellow


Aerospace Engineering at Illinois Prof. John Lambros has been elected a Fellow of the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM).

SEM members who achieve such status have distinguished themselves in a field of the Society’s interest, have been a member of the Society for at least ten consecutive years, and have made contributions to the technical community justifying the honor, according to the organization.

Lambros was a member of the Society’s Executive Board and Executive Board Subcommittee on National Meetings between 2008 and 2010. He has been a member of the Society’s Fatigue and Fracture Technical Committee since 1999, and has served as secretary, vice-chair, and chair of that committee.

Lambros with Students
Lambros with Students

Between 1999-2005 he also has served as Associate Technical Editor for Experimental Mechanics, SEM’s official journal.

On faculty in the AE Department since 2000, Lambros studies over multiple length and time scales the mechanical characterization of material response. Materials of interest range from traditional structural materials, such as metals and polymers, to advanced materials, such as composites, multifunctional materials, functionally graded materials, MicroElectroMechanical Systems, nickel-based superalloys, and more recently micro-structurally tailored granular media for wave mitigation.

Lambros earned a bachelor’s degree in aeronautical engineering in 1988 from the Imperial College of Science and Technology, University of London. He earned a master’s degree and PhD in aeronautics in 1989 and 1994, respectively, from the California Institute of Technology. Upon earning his PhD Lambros was a postdoctoral research fellow at Caltech for a year, and then took a faculty position at the University of Delaware before coming to Illinois.

Among Lambros’ honors and recognitions have been SEM’s 2012 Hetényi Award for the Best Paper in Experimental Mechanics; being elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) in 2009; the 2007 College of Engineering Xerox Research Award; having one of the most cited papers in the journal, Engineering Fracture Mechanics, between 2000 and 2005; and a National Science Foundation Career Award in 1999.