AE graduate students receive Mavis Memorial Fund Scholarship awards


Debra Levey Larson

Many researchers go on in academia to become faculty members at universities. In that role, they are often expected to teach as well as to conduct research. But the skills and preparation needed to be successful in a research setting are not the same set of skills needed to be successful in a classroom. Because of this the Mavis Memorial Fund Scholarship for Future Faculty Fellows was developed by the University of Illinois, College of Engineering to facilitate the training of the next generation of great engineering professors.

Neil Mehta, Palash Sashittal, Hao Chen
Neil Mehta, Palash Sashittal, Hao Chen
This year, three graduate students in the Department of Aerospace Engineering have been awarded Mavis Future Faculty Fellowships. The students are:  Neil Mehta, whose advisor is Professor Deborah Levin; Palash Sashittal, whose advisor is Associate Professor Daniel Bodony; and Hao Chen, whose advisor is Assistant Professor Koki Ho. 

The Office of Engineering Graduate, Professional and Online Programs facilitates the MF3 Academy where Mehta, Sashittal, and Chen will participate in a series of workshops, seminars, and activities that cover various aspects of an academic career.